British Society for Clinical Neurophysiology promote and encourage for the public benefit the science and practice of clinical neurophysiology and related sciences

The Adrian Prize

The British Society for Clinical Neurophysiology (formerly the EEG Society) awards an annual prize of £1000 for the best presentation given by medical doctors in training (senior house officers, specialist registrars, academic posts and equivalent grades or positions outside the UK), clinical scientists in training, basic scientists undertaking undergraduate or post-graduate degrees, Clinical Physiologists (Neurophysiology) up to 5 years after qualification (equivalent to previous ECNE pt I).

The prize is called The Adrian Prize in honour of the first President of the EEG Society (1943-1951), Professor ED Adrian OM, FRS (later Lord Adrian).

Suitable candidates for the prize will be asked to declare their interest when submitting an abstract for one the Society’s Scientific Meetings. Adjudication of each presentation will be made by a Panel of the Society’s Officers using a scoring system designed to assess the originality, scientific methodology, presentational quality and importance of the work. Any submission accepted for a Scientific Meeting is eligible for consideration.

Adjudications will be made at each Autumn, Spring and Summer Scientific Meeting. The candidate with the highest score will subsequently be notified and invited to receive The Adrian Prize from the President of the Society at the Annual General Meeting the following October.

The prize has been awarded to:

2017 Dr James Alix (A novel impedance spectroscopy device for examination of the tongue in motor neurone disease)
2015 Dr Verity McLelland
2014 Dr Daniel Konn
2013 Dr James Burge
2012 Dr Simon Freilich
2011 Dr John McHugh
2010 Dr K Shields
2009  Dr N Nirmalananthan
2008  Dr Michael Alexander 
2007  Dr David Allen 
2006  Dr Yong Chern Lee 
2005  Dr Ptolemaios Sarrigiannis

Lord Edgar Adrian (1889-1977)

Professor of Physiology at Cambridge University 1937-51; studied muscles and nerve cells, first performing crude measurements of nerve impulses by using valve amplifiers, and later devising more accurate instrumentation for such assessments. He accidentally proved the presence of electricity within nerve cells, after attaching electrodes to a toad's optic nerves and then noting increased impulse activity each time he happened to step across the animal's field of vision. He confirmed Berger’s early observations on alpha rhythm in the EEG, work done in collaboration with Matthews in Cambridge, and published in Brain in 1934. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in medicine in 1932, shared with Sir Charles Sherrington, for his work on nerve impulses.


  • 2019 Spring ATCN Day (9/5/19) Liverpool Medical Institution
    09 May 2019 09:00 - 09 May 2019 17:00
    Venue: Liverpool Medical Institution, 114 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5SR
    More »
  • 2019 Spring BSCN Meeting Liverpool
    10 May 2019 09:00 - 10 May 2019 17:00
    Local organiser is Dr Surjit Lyons-Nandra Abstract submission deadline 10 April 2019 Early bird registration deadline 10 April 2019 Liverpool Medical Institution 114 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5SR
    More »
  • ATCN Day Kings College Hospital (3/10/19)
    03 Oct 2019 09:00 - 03 Oct 2019 17:00
    ATCN Training Day
    More »
  • All Events...